Forum (Flavour) suggestions

My apologies if this is the wrong spot to post this, please feel free to move or delete if necessary.

I have been mixing for almost 18 months and have never really tried to design my own recipes, I have been happy to mix up what others created. I want to start making my own stuff, both for personal achievement and to hopefully give back to a community that has given me so much.

I have two small kids, very limited time and a finite budget and flavour stash… so on the one side I do not have the time to mix up hundreds of little experiments, nor the cash to buy up every possible flavour. As an inexperienced “mixer”, I was wondering if it would be possible to implement some/any of the following as part of the knowledge base within the community.

1. Most popular pairings - so a list of the flavors that play well with which ever flavour you are viewing (and perhaps even a % guide).
  2. A sub chart - I have often seen recipes that I have almost all the flavours for, but then have the wrong brand of the last one or two. How about a chart/list that shows which alternatives would be appropriate subs for any given flavour? Maybe colour code it, something like green for an awesome sub, orange for something that will kind of work (but not give the exact profile) and red for those that won’t work at all?
  3. Lastly (and this is for shamelessly mixing the recipes of others), one feature of ATF I really liked was the “wat can I mix” option, any chance of something similar popping up here?

The above would really be an awesome addition for newer mixers, if anyone has some other ideas (or alternative solutions to my suggestions), please feel free to use this topic for that. I am a firm believer in bouncing ideas off each other.

4 Likes

There is a bit to unpack there