OXVA XLIM Pro Review

Introduction

When a company introduces their ‘Pro’ version of a product, I tend to expect better quality and a full set of features.

However, expectations and reality are often two very different things.

Product overview

The XLIM Pro is a 1000mAh, 30w, autodraw/fire-button pod system, compatible with most of the existing range of XLIM pods and the new top-fill pods that come with the kit.

What do you get?

• XLIM Pro device
  • 0.6ohm pod
  • 0.8ohm pod
  • type-C cable + lanyard

First impressions

While the basic design is similar, the XLIM Pro feels different from previous XLIM models; rather than the aluminum shell construction of the XLIM V2, SE, etc, the Pro has chunky metal frame design with front and back panels. This sounds like a minor detail, but it results in the Pro having a heavy and sturdy feeling, rather than something more lightweight.

I’m no expert, but the carbon fiber front and back actually feel like carbon fiber with a texture to them – although they are probably just stickers.

The only negative point on the actual design of the XLIM Pro is the fire button placement, I’d much rather see the fire button on the front than on the side – however, I tend to use autodraw in devices like this, so it’s of little consequence to me.

Overall, the build quality is a step-up from most pod devices that have a semi-disposable feel to them.

Pod

The new XLIM ‘top-fill’ pods are not exactly top-fill in my eyes, I’d describe then as ‘side-fill’.

To me, top-fill means you crack off the mouth-piece revealing a fill port – these pods have a rubber tab on the side of the pod, so that you can refill the pod without having to remove it from the device.

I consider the above to be a good thing, because a mouth-piece that’s designed to be cracked off, tends to be with thin and flimsy, while a fixed mouth-piece can be much thicker and feels nicer in the mouth.