Beginners Guide to Vaping

I started vaping 5 years ago and I remember how confusing it was when I started. So I thought I would put this together. I will try to keep it simple, and will edit this as questions are asked. Other experienced members… PLEASE add to this. I am no expert. And I am tossing this together quickly, so keep that in mind.

When I started vaping I relied on my local vape shop to guide me. They of course saw it in their own best interest to start me off with a puny device, and keep me buying bigger mods as I grew used to vaping. I constantly lowered my nic as my devices got bigger/more efficient. It cost me a small fortune to finally be vaping with the big boys.

If you have never vaped, and you managed to find this forum… congratulations! You can avoid what I went through. Or, to keep it simple for you to learn as you go, you can pick your starting point. Either way… congratulations on choosing a better way of life!!!

Terminology

• Atomizer - The part of a vape device that vaporizes the liquid.
  • Mod - The part of the vaping device that controls the attached atomizer. It contains the battery and controls.
  • MTL - Mouth to lung. This is considered to be like smoking a cigarette. You use your cheeks to inhale the vapor into your mouth, then inhale into your lungs.
  • DTL - Direct to lung. This I always tell new vapers is simply inhaling into your lungs as if taking a deep breath.

First off, the nicotine milligram you start with will depend on your personal needs, and the device you choose.

There are different nicotine types:

• Salts based nicotines
  • Freebase nicotines

Salts based nicotines can be vaped at a higher nicotine level because they are smoother, and don’t give the user the burning feeling in their throat like some vapers experience when vaping too high a mg level of freebase nic. These salts nic juices are typically sold in 24mg to 50mg nicotine in the US.