2 Staggered Clapton builds

Left is my Plus v2, right is my Supreme v3. Excuse the shit pic quality. I spent ages trying to get a decent close up of them and this was the best (but still shit) I could get.

7 Likes

Nothing wrong with those pictures mate, nice and tidy builds too. Considering both builds are using Staggered Clapton coils (putting ohms, gauge and ID aside) there is quite a difference in appearance between them with the build on the right looking more refined so to speak.

5 Likes

They are very different indeed. One says staggered fused clapton and the other says only staggered clapton on the label so I’m not sure if they didn’t put the whole name on there of they are actually different types with or without the ‘fused’ bit. I’m not experienced enough to know this much about wires yet but I’m swiftly learning!
Also the left coils are kanthal and the right ones are ni80 but I don’t suppose that would make that much difference to the appearance? :man_shrugging:

5 Likes

Yes I noticed the one on the left just says Staggered Fused whilst the right one says Staggered Fused Clapton, it was the irregularities that caught my eye in the way the wire was actually made on the left side compared to how much tighter and more refined the one the right hand side looks. Obviously the right side has a slightly smaller ID and the wire used is of a smaller gauge but it’s more than that. Maybe it’s because the Coilology are hand made whilst the other one isn’t, they still look good though and I hope you enjoy them.

5 Likes

You are quite correct Detective Holden! Well spotted! The Coil Art ones on the left are 3mm ID and the Coilology ones on the right are 2.5mm ID. I’ve no idea if the Coil Art ones are hand made or not, it doesn’t say in their description on the site I bought them from, but I’d assume they are judging by the complexity of them.
I’m sure I will enjoy them, thanks Jimmy. They chuck out silly amounts of flavour!

5 Likes